header image

About EAC

Further information about the EAC region

Map of the EAC Region

EAC Region

The East African Community (EAC) is an intergovernmental organisation comprising five countries in the African Great Lakes region in eastern Africa: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda.

The EAC was re-established in 2000 as a potential precursor to the establishment of the East African Federation, a proposed federation of its five members into a single state.

In 2010, the EAC launched its own common market for goods, labour and capital within the region, with the goal of creating a common currency and eventually a full political federation.

In 2013 a protocol was signed outlining their plans for launching a monetary union within 10 years