header image


Further Information About the ECOWAS Region



The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional group of fifteen West African countries. Founded on 28 May 1975, with the signing of the Treaty of Lagos, its mission is to promote economic integration across the region.

Considered one of the pillars of the African Economic Community, the organisation was founded in order to achieve “collective self-sufficiency” for its member states by creating a single large trading bloc through an economic and trading union.

It also serves as a peacekeeping force in the region. Current Member States are: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

The Africa Business Safari: ECOWAS promises to be the largest event in the series with huge appetite and interest in the region. The event will also see the largest contingent of local business leaders from the region networking and sharing local experiences.